an open letter of sorts.

It doesn’t take that much neglect for things to quickly deteriorate, does it? I’ve learnt that the hard way. Multiple times. (Which would suggest that I didn’t learn it in the first place…)

Something that I do know is that I don’t want this little rascal of a passion project to end up on that list too. So, with that in mind, please excuse me for a minute or four; I have a little note to write on the back of a piece of scrap paper.

****

To my darling blog,

The past month of my life has been… unique. (Yes, that was deliberately diplomatic.) Although it has been quite emotionally draining, its being so has been a good thing, for it is hard to progress without change, n’est-ce pas?

There are so many words which I want to share with you, but I’ve been preoccupied – and in some cases I’m still rummaging for the words to most articulately (read: intelligibly and coherently) express myself.

We could let our taste buds explore Asian-Latino fusions. Or we could try to unravel suffocating confusion. Or we could delight in the interchangeability and intertwine of languages. Or we could attempt to have quasi-philosophical, semi-monosyllabic discussions with ourselves at the traffic lights. Or we could smile to ourselves as we savour last night. Or we could slump into a rut of disappointment. Or we could stress about the fact that we’re not stressing out for once. Or we could just go crazy on ice cream.

Oh, the options.

I guess you get to choose your own adventure, darling. 

In the meantime, I will be back soon. Soon, indeed. I promise. I just need to get some rather important things sorted and then I shall be able to shower you in affection. And – think about it – if I’ve barely written over the past month or so, think about just how much I have to say. Yes, that’s right: quite a few words.

À bientôt, chérie. 

Alex x

(i.e. Speak soon, amigos. Normally operations shall resume shortly! Thank you for your patience in the meantime) x

Leave a Reply

