twenty thirteen.

So, I didn’t make it onto the “Let’s reflect on 2013 at the end of 2013” bandwagon during the final weeks of December. My mother thinks I am the epitome of disorganisation (particularly in regards to my bedroom). Although I beg to differ I will concede that I am not known for doing things with great speed

ImageLet’s all take a minute to enjoy one of my favourite quotes from “The Devil Wears Prada”.
Ok. Let’s continue.

Despite missing the traditional window of time to reflect upon the year that has passed, I still have my reflecting-upon-2013 to do. So, let’s get cracking, rascals.

My 2013 was… normal and relatively uneventful. Well, in the sense that nothing cataclysmically, diabolically life-changing happened – my life just had its regular ups and downs with its usual dose of melodrama and randomness inbetween. My friend, on the other hand, had a phenomenal year. Here’s the status update she posted the other week:

2013.
Turned 21.
Fell in love.
Finished my degree.
Moved out of home.
Started my dream job.
Met new fantastic friends.
Been accepted into a new challenging role for next year. 
All in all, life can keep going just the way it is 🙂

Now, I’d like to clarify that I am not the jealous type (or at least I don’t think I am…). On the contrary, I am with all sincerity, ridiculously happy for my friend who had a splendid year. But from reading updates like that my 2013 feels a bit lame in comparison. I don’t feel like I achieved anything particularly great.

I mentioned this to another friend and she was kind enough to remind me that, in general, we social media bunnies only share the awesome moments in life on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and co. Most of us leave the boring, disappointed, sad and frustrated moments out of sight of our 429 Facebook ‘friends’. She also finished by encouraging me to not compare myself to others because, according to her, I had achieved lots of things during my year. “Yeah? Like what?” I thought… But it got me thinking anyway…

She’s a great friend, that one. And she’s got a good brain on her shoulders, too.

The result of her advice was this:

2013.
Turned 21 22.
Fell in love… with Game of Thrones… and Jon Snow.
Finished another year of my seemingly never-ending degree which started with my best semester ever and was then followed by my worst ever.
Moved out of home on. (See: that time when my ex got married.)
I continued doing a Started my dream job I absolutely love (nannying).
Met new fantastic friends. 
Been accepted into a new challenging role for next year. 
I realised that I quite like stringing words together into sentences and so I started this blog.
I branched out and tried new things (Latin dancing and pilates) – both of which I really enjoy and I now do on a regular basis.
I learnt a lot about myself and I think that I grew a lot as a person.
I got my first role without using any connections, but through a traditional interview process. (Admittedly, it was not a paid position (intern!), but I was still chuffed, ok?)

It may not have been a perfect or spectacular year, but all in all, life can keep going just the way it is. 

Alex x

Leave a Reply

